S1 Mini Vivaldi II - strange sounds and grouphead dripping / failure?

This forum contains various threads with photos on how to perform various maintenance and repairs on your S1.
OhHarvey
Freeze Dried

S1 Mini Vivaldi II - strange sounds and grouphead dripping / failure?

Post by OhHarvey »

Hi everybody,

my S1 Mini Vivaldi II is quite brand new (bought in July 2020) but has unfortunately showing a strange behavior for 2 days now. I think there is a failure, but I don't know the cause and I'm not an expert though :-?

Observations:
- abnormal clicking noise when plugging in or unplugging the power cable
- constant humming
- brewing group is dripping water / gives off large amounts of water without pulling shots
- during backflush there is no pressure relief into the dip tray

I have uploaded 2 videos showing the main points mentioned:
https://vimeo.com/515883831
https://vimeo.com/515882023

Anyone can help me?

Thanks,
Michael
OhHarvey
Freeze Dried

Re: S1 Mini Vivaldi II - strange sounds and grouphead dripping / failure?

Post by OhHarvey »

I have opened the Mini II and made the following observation:
- the sound may come from the valve at the brewhead
- when disconnecting the cable feom that valve there is no clicking or humming, no water dripps through the brewing head

Therefore, this valve must be the faulty part. Im wondering wether its the valve itself or the main unit controlling that valve? Any suggestions?
chas
Vivaldi Dreamer

Post by chas »