automatic dosing not working

This forum contains various threads with photos on how to perform various maintenance and repairs on your S1.
Post Reply
danielle

automatic dosing not working

Post by danielle » Sat Oct 09, 2010 10:52 am

Just before I changed the temperature probe on my S1 the last shot on my machine would not dose. The 3 yellow lights, 100, 105, 100, went on within about 10 seconds into the double shot. They blinked for a while then the orange lights went on. The water flow did not stop automatically. I assumed my son had pushed something affecting the dosing so I tried to reset it. No such luck. I called the tech to find out if the problem was more than the temperature probe I was told it was, but he was in Italy and asked that I call back on the 15th. He did say that it was not serious. So we changed the probe last night,-thank you Chas for the instructions-, and hoped this would be the solution. No such luck. $$$ for a part I may not have needed to replace. The automatic dosing doesn't seem to be working. Is there a reboot formula? or do I have a more serious problem requiring yet another new part? And can I do this myself?
Danielle

MDL
Barista
Posts: 328
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 11:29 am
Location: San Diego

Re: automatic dosing not working

Post by MDL » Sat Oct 09, 2010 12:37 pm

I can't speak directly to your problem since I have not experienced it. I can, however, speak to your concerns about Chris' Coffee and their helping you. My experience with Chris and his staff has been 110% great. They stand behind the equipment that they sell and will work with you to make it right. The machines are reasonably easy to work on if you are "handy". The quarters can be tight but in general things are setup in a manner that allows you to get at what you need to reach.

Give them a chance to work with you and I am confident that they will take care of your machine so that it is working correctly.

Good luck,
Mark

danielle

Re: automatic dosing not working

Post by danielle » Sat Oct 09, 2010 1:41 pm

Thanks Mark, but I was actually talking about a LaSpaziale tech out of Ct, not ChrisCoffee. I live in Canada with no one close by to service my machine. I've been dealing directly with LaSpaziale. Maybe I should check with CC.

User avatar
chas
Vivaldi Dreamer
Posts: 2772
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 11:52 pm
Location: Central Maryland
Contact:

Re: automatic dosing not working

Post by chas » Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:32 am

Does the problem you described also occur even if you have no coffee in the PF? If so, it sounds like you may have a small metal burr caught in the flow meter. That has happened to a number of S1 owners. It's pretty simple to fix - probably easier than the temp. probe.
Chas
LM GS/3 & LaSpaziale Dream v 1.23 (US 120V)
Mazzer Kony E, Customized Rocky
Hottop P/B

User avatar
chas
Vivaldi Dreamer
Posts: 2772
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 11:52 pm
Location: Central Maryland
Contact:

Re: automatic dosing not working

Post by chas » Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:38 am

See the topic about 1/2 down this page that includes photos and a diagram with instructions on how to remove and clean out the flowmeter.

http://www.s1cafe.com/viewtopic.php?t=519
Chas
LM GS/3 & LaSpaziale Dream v 1.23 (US 120V)
Mazzer Kony E, Customized Rocky
Hottop P/B

alanmd
Americano
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 10:10 pm

Re: automatic dosing not working

Post by alanmd » Wed Jan 09, 2019 5:12 pm

I know this is an old thread but I want to say thanks for helping to diagnose the dosing issues that I had. My machine refused to dose at all from day 1- I would set up the dosing, and then when I tried it out by hitting the single/double button the water would just run and run. I followed instructions on the linked thread and found a couple of small brass shavings in the flowmeter, that seemed to be causing the little 'impeller' to stick. I removed them and have had 7 years of perfect dosing since then. Thanks!

User avatar
chas
Vivaldi Dreamer
Posts: 2772
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 11:52 pm
Location: Central Maryland
Contact:

Re: automatic dosing not working

Post by chas » Wed Jan 09, 2019 5:49 pm

There was a period where the LaSpaziale folks were obviously not doing a good job cleaning out those metal shavings while they were drilling and tapping the holes in the various mechanisms during assembly. Around the time you got your machine a lot of S1 buyers were having this issue.

LaSpaziale probably got an earful from Chris since I have not heard of anyone with this issue in quite a while.
Chas
LM GS/3 & LaSpaziale Dream v 1.23 (US 120V)
Mazzer Kony E, Customized Rocky
Hottop P/B

alanmd
Americano
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 10:10 pm

Re: automatic dosing not working

Post by alanmd » Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:34 am

Good to know that they've improved- it's been the only small flaw in a product that's been otherwise perfect. At the time it seemed expensive but 9 years later it feels like a bargain!

Post Reply

Return to “Maintenance and Repair”