Temperature probe failure

Did something go wrong? Ask about it here. Later report and document the resolution here including out of pocket costs for replacement parts.
Post Reply
User avatar
cafesolo
Latte
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 11:45 am
Location: Valldemossa, Mallorca, Spain, Europe

Temperature probe failure

Post by cafesolo » Wed Dec 05, 2012 2:25 pm

Curious thing happened this morning when I switched on my S1 v1.5 (version 1 with upgraded controlbox)

The machine blocked and displayed an alarm: two red lights solid (20-21). Coffee group temperature detection system failure!

Had to dust off my old french press for my morning cafeine dose.

this evening back home i replaced the sensor with a spare sensor, and all is back to normal.

The failing sensor is only a week old. i upgraded to the newer type of sensor, which is suposedly more accurate.

Hopefully La Spaziale will replace my sensor.

Has anyone else had a similar failure?

I will upload a photo of the new failing sensor, and the old type with the tube and sensor.





Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Attachments
ImageUploadedByTapatalk HD1354735421.632957.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk HD1354735421.632957.jpg (237.31 KiB) Viewed 1490 times

User avatar
chas
Vivaldi Dreamer
Posts: 2703
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 11:52 pm
Location: Central Maryland
Contact:

Re: Temperature probe failure

Post by chas » Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:00 pm

That's pretty unusual. I guess there is a first time for everything. Even reliable electronics items do fail and when they do it is usually pretty early in their life cycle - known in the biz as "infant mortality".
Chas
LM GS/3 & LaSpaziale Dream v 1.23 (US 120V)
Mazzer Kony E, Customized Rocky
Hottop P/B

Post Reply

Return to “S1 Operational Problems”