No-Burn steam arm

If you have a question or comment specific to the VII that doesn't fit in any other VII category, submit it here.
eprolix

No-Burn steam arm

Post by eprolix »

I've been using my VII for about 8 months (LOVE it). Was thinking about adding a no-burn steam wand. Any thoughts? Preferences? The regular wand steams great, but there is some scalded milk on it after each use. Wipes off easily enough, but could the new arm eliminate that little annoyance?
Niko

Re: No-Burn steam arm

Post by Niko »

Yes and no.
The cleanup will definitely be easier but the performance may not be to your standards. The arm is great if they would only get a tip that performs just like the current standard on the VII.
I'd go for the S5 arm if I were you ;-)
zoey

Post by zoey »

I just ordered the standard (longer) arm because Chris's indicated that the 'good' steam tip would not work with the no-burn arm.
michael
God Shot

Post by michael »

i have the S5 arm; only way to go 8)
chas
Vivaldi Dreamer

Post by chas »

You can actually put the four hole tip on the no burn arm but then it loses its no burn characteristics. The No Burn Arm has a Teflon tube inside and then the tip has a clear silicone gasket that insulates the tip from the arm. Without that clear silicon gasket you lose the no burn. The tip has to be specially designed to accept the gasket so you can't just move it to the four hole tip.

Also, even if you could find a four hole tip with such a gasket, I don't think it would be the same. The Teflon tube inside the no burn arm is going to restrict the steam flow somewhat.
Chas
LM GS/3 & LaSpaziale Dream v 1.25 (US 120V)
Mazzer Kony E, Customized Rocky
Hottop P/B
BrewHaHa
Macchiato

Post by BrewHaHa »