Very low pressure water inlet/supply query

If you have a question or comment specific to the VII that doesn't fit in any other VII category, submit it here.
steem21

Very low pressure water inlet/supply query

Post by steem21 »

Hi all,

This is my first post in this forum! I've been using a Rancilio Silvia for the past two years and now have the opportunity to upgrade to a secondhand La Spaz Vivaldi II.

I think I've managed to source everything for a quick and easy plumb in from my cold water supply using John Guest fittings. My problem though is this: my cold water supply is from a large tank in the attic, which is 6m (20ft) above the machine and is at very low pressure (gravity fed really). To check this, I bought a water pressure gauge, put it on the cold water feed, and the dial barely flickered! So maybe not even 1 bar of pressure.
Also, I'm planning to feed the washing machine off the same feed, so I have a 15mm T joint with a 1/4" pipe to feed the La Spaz. I guess this arrangement of taking water from a 15mm pipe down to a 1/4" feed will still drop the pressure further? And I will also have a filter before the water hits the Vivaldi. The filter connections are 1/4" I think but I can try to get as much of the piping to be a larger diameter like 3/8" if this will make a difference.

My questions are:
Will the S1 rotary pump be ok will such a low inlet water pressure? Also will the 1/4" feed cause the pump to run dry? I know a solution will be fitting a pump to increase the water pressure but this will be too much for the wife! So not a solution really. Also I've seen the Flojet and bottle solution but space is tight already so no more kitchen space for that!

I've posed the question on Home-Barista and had some advice, but it really sounds like my options are limited.

I would be grateful for any advice from anyone who has had experience with plumbing in a S1 with very low inlet pressure.

Thanks

Steve
JohnB

Post by JohnB »