malabar gold

All things beans. Discussions about green and roasted coffee beans - where to purchase them, how to roast them, how best to grind them for the S1/V2/Mini/Dream/Dream T. Also, discussions about grinder and roaster hardware.
michael

malabar gold

Post by michael »

does anyone have any experience with these beans; i was hoping for a temperature recommendation and if i am lucky enough, a grinding recommendation for the mini mazzer e 8)
Niko

Post by Niko »

I've never used Malabar Gold but something tells me to grind it into fine powder or dust since it probably has Monsooned coffee in it. As for temp you should be safe to start at the 93C range.
hlsheppard

Post by hlsheppard »

I have lots of experience with these beans and Niko is correct. I grind them at the same setting as SM's Liquid Amber. Quite a bit finer than a "standard" bean/blend.

Very powerful espresso! The crema is pretty phenomenal as well (obviously due the the Robusta that Dr. John sources).

Tell us what you think.
alsterling

Re: malabar gold

Post by alsterling »

Michael, what happened with your Malabar? I've used it regularly for over two years. I first bought it from Dr. John roasted, then starting buying it green from coffeewholesalers.com in Eugene, OR.

As was mentioned, and by now I'm guessing you've confirmed it for yourself, it requires a finer grind than most other blends or SO's, and you should set the machine at 93 C minimum. Dr. John recommends 205 F to 207 F, which I once tried, but just couldn't see a substantial taste advantage on my machine as compared to 93 C.

Al
zoey

Post by zoey »

I used to roast a monsooned malabar. As a single entity, I hated the stuff. To me, it had a real "muddy-soil-dirt" taste to it. The only way I could stand it was to mix it, in small portions, with other beans.

Sorry, it's been a while so I can't remember my temps/times/weights....
Niko

Post by Niko »

It's "Muddy-Soil-Dirt" with peanuts!
...get it right. :lol: