Ordering Vivaldi II, need help

General Questions and Comments that fit no specific category.
jaym3

Ordering Vivaldi II, need help

Post by jaym3 »

Hi all, I am finally getting rid of my Breville and ordering a Vivaldi II. I've always wanted a 'prosumer' espresso machine so I am greatly looking forward to this. I have some questions for those of you who own one or who are more experienced in these higher end machines, as I am very new to them.

Just to clarify my use, I probably pull 4-6 shots per day, probably more when I get this lol. It's just for myself and friends when they come by. As for the reasons I chose this machine, it's pretty clear after searching the CoffeeGeek forum that this is a stellar machine at a reasonable price point, and I'd have to pay WAY more to get anything better. It seems to suit my use and reliability requirements. I also want to make sure I am getting a machine that I will have for a long while and not outgrow very quickly.

As for my questions:

1) What sort of additional items should I consider adding to the Vivaldi? They have quite a few options for it: longer arm, no burn steam arm, drain kit, filter system, softener system, etc. Are there things that any of you wish you had gotten when you bought it, or find that you cannot live without? I think I am going to get the softener and filter... seems like cheap insurance.

2) Can you explain to me the benefits / drawbacks of a bottomless portafilter? From what I have read, it is supposed to be a good 'trainer' but I am not sure how? What exactly am I being trained in? :) Also, does it make better espresso? Any drawbacks?

3) Anything else? :)

Thanks!

-J
oton

Re: Ordering Vivaldi II, need help

Post by oton »

Welcome :grin:
jaym3 wrote:
3) Anything else? :)
Are you going to buy a grinder, right?